Richmond, Virginia’s NATIONAL THEATER located at 7th and East Broad Streets opened with much fanfare in 1923. It became part of the thriving downtown theater scene. Touring vaudeville acts of the era performed on its stage and the screen was lit up with silent movies, accompanied by live music in the largest orchestra pit in the state. In its heyday, such local and national show-biz luminaries as Eddie Cantor and Orson Welles regularly looked over the footlights from the National’s stage.

Upon its reopening in 2008, The National has seen another chapter of its history unfold. The National has hosted concerts with Trey Anastasio, Widespread Panic, Alice Cooper, Alice in Chains, Willie Nelson, Elvis Costello, The Flaming Lips, Gregg Allman, Jason Mraz, Megadeth, Morrissey, Wilco, O.A.R., Pat Benatar, Bob Weir & Ratdog, The Smashing Pumpkins, The Black Crowes, and many more.

Upcoming Events

Date & TimeEventActions
Thursday Sep 19, 2019
7:30PM
Grace VanderWaal
Sunday Sep 22, 2019
8:00PM
Whitney
Monday Sep 23, 2019
8:00PM
Yung Gravy
Tuesday Sep 24, 2019
7:30PM
WNRN Presents
Calexico + Iron & Wine
Wednesday Sep 25, 2019
7:30PM
STS9
Thursday Sep 26, 2019
7:30PM
Mix 98.1 Presents
The Psychedelic Furs
Friday Sep 27, 2019
8:00PM
XL102 Presents
Bad Suns
Saturday Sep 28, 2019
7:00PM
Juvenile
Tuesday Oct 1, 2019
7:30PM
XL102 Presents
Catfish and the Bottlemen
Thursday Oct 3, 2019
7:30PM
XL102 Presents
Blue October
Showing 1-10 of 56 Events